Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


To realize the specific purpose of ORBIT Lab, an interdisciplinary team consisting of faculty, staff, and students from Bioengineering, Business, Design, OTM, and Ophthalmology has been assembled.  Each ORBIT Lab team member leverages years of design experience ranging from other UIC design initiatives to private industry. ORBIT Lab will use this vast expertise to create innovative ophthalmological solutions for you.

The ORBIT Lab faculty are stratified into four roles: Executive Directors, Technical Directors, Advisors, and Technology Transfer Specialists.  A list of team members, their role, and affiliated department are included below.

Executive Directors

Prof. Peter Pfanner

Peter Pfanner, MDM

Executive Director, UIC Innovation Center
Medical Device Development Director, UIC College of Medicine
Research Professor, Industrial Design
Department Affiliate, Urology

Technical Directors

Dr. Yannek Leiderman

Dr. Yannek I. Leiderman, M.D., Ph.D.

ORBIT Lab Director, UIC Innovation Center
Associate Professor and Physician Surgeon, Ophthalmology & Visual Science
Director of Vitreoretinal Microsurgery Laboratory


Prof. Charles Frisbee

Charles Frisbie, MBA

Medical Device Pipeline Director/Medical Device Labs Manager/MAD Lab Director/Interim ORBIT Lab Director, UIC Innovation Center

Technology Transfer Specialist

Jonathan Gortat

Jonathan Gortat, M.B.A.

Senior Technology Manager, UIC Office of Technology Management